Australian Qualifications Framework

What is the Australian Qualifications Framework?

The Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) is the national policy for regulated qualifications in Australian education and training. It incorporates the qualifications from each education and training sector into a single comprehensive national qualifications framework. The AQF was first introduced in 1995 to underpin the national system of qualifications in Australia encompassing higher education, vocational education and training and schools. [1]

Reference: [1] accessed February 4, 2018

What are the VET qualification?

There are ten AQF levels. The following table highlights the seven AQF qualification levels delivered by vocational education and training (VET): AQF levels 1 to 6, and AQF level 8.

AQF levels

What is the link between VET qualifications and occupations?

VET qualifications specify the skills required to perform an occupation, work function or entire job. The following table shows the relationship between AQF qualification level and occupations in three industry sectors: food manufacturing, building and construction, and retail. The AQF level 7 has been included, however these qualifications are delivered by higher education not VET.

AQF occupations

  • A
  • B
  • C

Tap or click on the following ABC logo to return to the list of topics.

ABC logo

Are you an RTO, and you want purchase training and assessment resources for delivering the TAE40116 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment qualification?

Contact now!

logo otws